Reformulary Expert Committee Members and Special Advisors

Dr Paul Oh, Chair

Toronto, Ontario

Dr Paul Oh is the Medical Director of the Cardiovascular Prevention and Rehabilitation Program and a Scientist at the Toronto Rehabilitation Institute, at University Health Network (UHN).  He is a prior Chair of the Drug Quality and Therapeutics Committee (DQTC) of Ontario, the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-term Care (MOHLTC), and has participated in guidelines and strategic development processes for medication and health technology evaluation provincially and federally.

Muhammad Mamdani, MPH, MA, PharmD, Vice Chair

Toronto, Ontario

Dr Muhammad Mamdani is the Director of the Li Ka Shing Centre for Healthcare Analytics Research and Training (CHART) of the Li Ka Shing Institute of St. Michael's Hospital and an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto.  He is also Professor in the Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy, the Department of Medicine of the Faculty of Medicine, and the Institute of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation of the Dalla Lana Faculty of Public Health.  Muhammad is also adjunct Senior Scientist at the Institute for Clinical Evaluative Sciences (ICES), and a co-Principal Investigator of the Ontario Drug Policy Research Network.

Dr Bill Evans

Hamilton, Ontario

Dr. Bill Evans is a medical oncologist with a career long interest in lung cancer. He is Professor Emeritus in the Department of Oncology, McMaster University and runs a consulting practice called Oncosynthesis Consulting Inc. He also Chairs Cancer Care Ontario’s Smoking Cessation Advisory Committee and is a member of the Canadian Partnership Against Cancer’s Steering Committee for a Cancer Risk Management Model. He has served in several senior positions including CEO of the Ottawa Regional Cancer Centre, provincial head of systemic therapy at the provincial office of Cancer Care Ontario and President of the Juravinski Hospital and Cancer Centre at Hamilton Health Sciences. Dr. Evans has published over 275 publications in peer-reviewed journals.

Dr Gerald A. Evans

Kingston, Ontario

Dr. Gerald Evans is the Chair of the Division of Infectious Diseases and a Professor in the Departments of Medicine, Biomedical & Molecular Sciences, and Pathology & Molecular Medicine at Queen's University, as well as an attending physician in Infectious Diseases and Internal Medicine at Kingston General Hospital and Hotel Dieu Hospital.  He is an Adjunct ICES Scientist and a co-investigator with the Ontario Drug Policy Research Network (ODPRN), serves as a member of the CED-Cancer Care Ontario Subcommittee, and is Chair of the Working Group on Drugs for Rare Diseases for the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care (MOHLTC).  He is past chair of the MOHLTC Committee to Evaluate Drugs (CED).


Jean Lachaine, B.Pharm, Ph.D.

Montreal, Quebec

Dr Jean Lachaine is a professor at the Faculty of Pharmacy of the University of Montreal and is associate researcher at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Montreal.  He is a member of the Scientific Committee of the Quebec Institut National d'Excellence en Santé et en Services Sociaux (INESSS) as the expert in pharmacoeconomics.  He is also an active member of the Quebec Network for Personalized Health Care and of the Personalized Medicine Partnership for Cancer (PMPC).

Dr Stuart MacLeod

Vancouver, British Columbia

Dr Stuart MacLeod has been Professor of Pediatrics at the University of British Columbia since 2003 and moved to emeritus status in January 2015.  He is an investigator at BC Children’s Hospital, and was previously Director of the Child and Family Research Institute at BC Children’s Hospital and served as Vice President Research for the Provincial Health Services Authority of British Columbia. His current research interests include pediatric clinical pharmacology and toxicology, adverse drug reactions, pharmacogenomics, drug policy and optimal drug use for children.


Dr Elizabeth Mann

Halifax, Nova Scotia

Dr Elizabeth Mann is a General Internist with special interest in cardiovascular diseases and porphyria. She was a Professor of Medicine at Dalhousie University.  Elizabeth also served on the Council of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia from June 2007 until May 2017, and served as President of the College from 2012 to 2014.  She has received teaching and clinical awards from her department, the Canadian Society of Internal Medicine and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada.  She has had a number of administrative roles and is currently Past President of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Nova Scotia.

Dr Peter Tugwell

Ottawa, Ontario

Peter is a Professor of Medicine, and Epidemiology & Community Medicine at the University of Ottawa and a practicing rheumatologist at the Ottawa Hospital.  He is also the Director for the Centre for Global Health at the Institute of Population Health at the University of Ottawa.  Peter is a co-director of a WHO Collaborating Centre for Knowledge Translation & Health Technology Assessment in Equity, and Coordinating Editor of the Cochrane Musculoskeletal Review Group.  He is an Officer of the Order of Canada.

Sandra Knowles, BScPhm

Toronto, Ontario

Sandra Knowles is a Drug Safety Pharmacist at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre in Toronto and Assistant Professor (Status Only) at the Faculty of Pharmacy at the University of Toronto.  She has published extensively on adverse drug reactions in peer-reviewed journals and has contributed to various book chapters, with over 100 publications to date.


Dr Joe Clarke

Toronto, Ontario

Joe Clarke is Professor Emeritus of pediatrics at the University of Toronto.  He obtained an M.D., a PhD in biochemistry and an M.Sc. in health policy.  He has contributed to the basic understanding of a number of inherited metabolic diseases, including lysosomal storage diseases.  For over 45 years, Joe maintained an active clinical practice attending patients of all ages affected with various inherited metabolic diseases.  Dr. Clarke also wrote the textbook, A Clinical Guide to Inherited Metabolic Diseases, Cambridge University Press.


Dr Andreas Laupacis

Toronto, Ontario

Andreas is a general internist and the Executive Director of the Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael’s Hospital, Professors in the Faculty of Medicine and Department of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation at the University of Toronto, and a Scientist at the Keenan Research Centre.  He has extensive experience with drug reimbursement decisions in the public sector, having been a member of Ontario’s Drug Therapeutics and Quality Committee (DQTC) and the first Chair of the Canadian Expert Drug Advisory Committee of the Canadian Agency for Drugs and Technologies in Health (CADTH).

Dr Braden Manns

Calgary, Alberta

Braden is the Svare Professor in Heath Economics and a nephrologist at the University of Calgary in the Departments of Medicine and Community Health Sciences and an Alberta Innovates – Health Solutions Health Scholar.  He is also the Scientific Director of the Alberta Health Services Kidney – Strategic Clinical Network.  Braden is the past Chair of the Canadian Expert Drug Advisory Committee, a past member of the Expert Drug Evaluation and Therapeutics Committee for Alberta Health, and immediate Past President of the Canadian Society of Nephrology.

Michael Boivin, BScPhm

Barrie, Ontario

Michael Boivin is a clinical pharmacist consultant, continuing education developer and president of CommPharm Consulting Inc.  He has written almost 100 continuing education activities for pharmacists, family physicians, physician specialists, nurses and other allied health professionals, and has worked extensively for 17 years in the community pharmacy setting.